People Don’t Write Anymore

People don’t write anymore, because people don’t read anymore.

Self expression has always been varied and its mediums plenty. Music, visuals, moving and otherwise. Sung and otherwise. I can’t say I’m not guilty of contributing to this pool of “people not reading anymore”, since I have a very flighty attention span. Because when you have 10 things distracting you, and 10 more other things you can be doing, the writing/reading page no longer becomes a captive space. And life has become full of distractions.

When I was younger, there were fewer digital distractions and books were a great avenue for me to foray into a different world, meet different people. Today I just need to download a game and it feeds my social, emotional, intellectual needs in a way that can get addictive.

The absolute enthusiasm for anything new and shiny, especially if it is fun, is something that I cannot resist.

Gah.

I have a few books on the reading list, not the one in the widget on the right because I long forgot how to edit the elements on this blog, and I need to force myself to sit down and read. I’ll start with The World According to Anna, by Jostein Gaarder. European writers have a sensibility and style that is enigmatically magnetic.

No shit. I even write like crap now. Hahaha. Ok time to read.

One response to “People Don’t Write Anymore

  1. It’s alright. There are still people following and reading your blogs ☺️

Leave a comment